Book Review: Exile, Verity Chronicles Book 1

Book Review

Exile, Book 1 of the Verity Chronicles

By: T.S. Valmond and A.K. Duboff

3 Stars

Freedom comes at a price…

TSS Agent Joe Anderson has a problem with authority. They say he’s insubordinate… or so it’s called when you punch a superior officer during a routine training exercise.

With no other place for him, Joe is shipped off to the outer colonies to run undercover surveillance. The assignment seems tedious until he makes his way onto a newly purchased cargo ship.

Captain Iza Sundari came from nothing, but she’s fought to carve out a life for herself with her eclectic crew on a ship of her own. Captaining a ship is the closest thing to freedom she can find, but she’ll have to pay for it. And freedom comes at a steep price.

When a risky proposition leads to the perfect job, it seems Iza’s financial troubles might be over. But with hidden agendas at every turn, she’ll have to cross a line she swore she never would to protect her ship and crew.

Set in the internationally bestselling Cadicle space opera universe, the standalone Verity Chronicles series is perfect for fans of Firefly, Dark Matter, and classic space adventure.

This book was good.
A little lackluster in the overall premise, I’m thinking picks up in the next installment. I’ll be reading book 2 to find out.

The characters were REAL. I both loved and hated them all at times and was thankful none of them fell into the caricature of themselves like can sometimes happen. They grew and changed and softened and hardened when they needed to. Reminiscent of Firefly without being obvious about it, if you love space adventures that center around people and relationships, check this one out.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.